All Access Day 6 – Initial Thoughts

google-play-music-main

So, I’ve been using Google Play Music All Access (All Access for short) for 6 days, which has given me enough time to gather my initial thoughts on Google’s service. I’ll quickly run through the basics for anyone who has no familiarity with Google Music.

Ok, so. Google Music is basically a cloud service. You can store up to 20,000 songs in that cloud. If you have the Google Play Music app on your phone or tablet, you can stream or download the songs in the cloud.

You can add an album or song to your library for free, and you can play it offline on your android devices, but you do not own that music and so cannot download it onto your PC.

Any song or album in your library (library means cloud) can be cached or downloaded to your phone or tablet.

Here’s where it gets tricky. You can upload music you bought from iTunes or a CD by using Music Manager for your PC or laptop, this music CAN be downloaded to the PC. If you buy a song or album from Google Play this CAN be downloaded to PC. IF you have All Access and add an album to your library, this CANNOT be downloaded to your PC, only your phone or tablet. This is to prevent piracy, but, I still found a way to get my music for free. (Not using it as I am against piracy)

1. Music Galore – But where to store it all?

Ok, so you’re going through your favourite bands albums and adding them all to your library, if you’re like me, you’ll soon notice that you’re creeping up to the 20,000 song limit faster than you might think, I used up 15% of the 20,000 songs in one day, just by adding album after album of my favourite bands.

What I take away from this is, why isn’t there a way to expand your storage? I wouldn’t mind paying extra for unlimited storage, but Google doesn’t offer that option, you’re stuck with 20,000 songs, which is less than you might think.

2. Here’s your music – Only use our music player

Ok, so you’ve just bought your favourite Justin Bieber song (Only Joking), you may (read: DO) want to play it in a different music player such as Poweramp or Zplayer, Google won’t let you do this. Even though you’ve bought the song and can play it offline in Google Music, you’re still not allowed to play it in a separate music player.

There is of course a method around this so that you can play the music in ANY music player even if you haven’t cached or downloaded it to your device. This method requires root on your android device which isn’t for the faint of heart, I’m not going to explain it here as it would take too long.

3. We have anti-piracy – That’s why it’s so easy to pirate our music.

Ok, now, before I continue, I am NOT encouraging piracy, I am fully against it and do not use any method of piracy.

So, Google implied anti-piracy by not allowing you to download music in your library that you haven’t purchased to your PC. But what about your android device?

Well, I am only going to say that I did find a way to take the music from my library that I did not own and put it on my PC, and in my opinion, it was way too easy.

I do not use this method of course, I buy my music legally, but for the say of the 30 day challenge, I had to check out everything.

So, these have been my initial impressions, stay tuned for more on the 30 day challenge, if you like the 30 day challenge and want me to try another service, whatever it may be, just comment below 🙂

Lets get social, leave a comment

