All Access – The Conclusion

google-play-music-device-1024x680

My time is officially up, I’ve reviewed Google Play All Access as I went along and now it’s time to tell you all what I think.

The Good:

All Access is an extremely convenient service, if you’re in the Google ecosystem. I found that I was listening to more music than ever with the radio feature, and with featured playlists like electric picnic I felt like I wasn’t missing out, on much (more in the bad).

The fact that I can browse through any album I want, and simply by clicking a button, add it to my ever expanding library of music, it’s so simple. I also like the fact that I can keep music that I don’t own on my devices for offline playback, nice.

Of course, All Access would be nothing without the Play Music app. The app is polished, but I do get some lag, even on high end devices. I also get some delay in music playback from hitting the play button and hearing the music, another thing Google should work on.

Explore

The Bad:

Dear Google, why can I only store 20,000 songs? Why won’t you just take my money, and give me unlimited storage, is that so much to ask? You can guess that I’m getting at the fact that you only get 20,000 songs worth of storage. This irritated me, so I decided to see if it would be cheaper, long term, to just buy my music outright, and the results surprised me. Basing my answer on the €0.99 a song rate on iTunes, and the €9.99 a month rate of All Access, it would take you 165 years to get you moneys worth out of buying all of your music, of course, this is assuming you use all 20,000 songs of space.

You really do have to be in the Google ecosystem, you need Gmail, Wallet and Play Music to get started. This would annoy some windows phone users, but I suspect not those who use Nokia Music.

And Finally, iTunes has a wider variety of music. Artists that aren’t that popular, don’t publish their music on Google Music, and so I found myself having to switch between iTunes and Google Music depending of the fact if they were popular or not. As well as this, I like the music videos I get when I buy some iTunes albums, I don’t get that on All Access, which is a shame.

Overall, All Access is a really neat service, which has a few bugs to be worked out. Hopefully, with the introduction of android 4.4 KitKat, the app and service will be improved.

Spoiler Alert. Thanks to a suggestion by our own @hazel_t , I think I’ll be trying Nokia Music next, which should be interesting. Thanks for reading and if you have any suggestions for more 30 day challenges, just let me know in the comments or tweet me @TechMitchell.

Lets get social, leave a comment

